Conference

The conference is devoted to theories, methods and applications of knowledge management and engineering, machine learning, data mining and knowledge discovery in databases. EGC aims at providing a forum for researchers, students and professionals to present research results. It brings together experts from both academia and industry to exchange ideas and discuss future challenges in knowledge extraction and management.

As each year, the EGC conference is open to recent research work and industrial developments in the domain of knowledge extraction and management (please see the EGC 2015 topics). Thus, EGC helps present and discuss both theoretical and applied results.

Several kinds of communications are possible: research studies (published as long, 12-page papers, short, 6-page papers or posters with 2-page abstracts, depending on maturity), software demos (presented in 6-page papers). Papers may be submitted either in French or English (for non-French speakers).
EGC 2015 will also host several thematic workshops.

A best academic paper and a best applied paper award will be granted, as well as a PhD award (separate call pending). Accepted research papers and demos will be published in a special issue of the French RNTI journal. Furthermore, selected accepted papers will be invited to submit an extended version for publication in international postproceedings published by Springer Verlag.

  • Industry track on Big Data Analytics

Big Data Analytics will be the topic of the Industry Track of EGC 2015, which will bring together participants from industry and academia. It will be wholly held in English.

Contributions to the Industry Track should emphasize real-world deployment experiences of applications and projects related to the EGC topics (please see the EGC 2015 topics) with a special focus on Big Data scenarios. Success stories from the deployment of analytical technologies in industry, and concrete lessons learned can be presented. Areas where further research is needed, opportunities for Big Data analytics in industry, success stories from the deployment of tools and applications – every aspect of the practical current and future use of knowledge extraction and management technologies in industry can and should be discussed.

We encourage submissions from industry, but also from academia when there is a clear practical relevance, and especially from academic/industrial collaboration projects. The review process for this track will mainly focus on practical relevance. Submissions can be short (6 pages max.) or long (12 page max.) papers in English only. They must follow the format and guidelines of the main conference.

  • Demonstrations

A special session of software demonstrations and research prototypes will take place in the context of the EGC 2015 conference.

As for the research papers, these demonstrations must conform to the conference topics: knowledge extraction and management (fundamentals, methodologies, emerging domain, applications). Please refer to the list of EGC 2015 topics 

The papers (maximum of 6 pages) presenting these applications will be included in the conference proceedings.

Each accepted submission will be the subject of a quick presentation during the plenary session and of a detailed demonstration during an allocated timeslot with the conference participants.

  • Submissions

Submissions must be anonymous and posted only through the conference’s website. They must be sent in PDF format only and comply with the RNTI LaTeX format. Please visit the submission page to prepare your paper.

Go to the submission page 

Download the call for papers in PDF format

  • Dates

All dates are firm. There will be no extended deadline.

Research papers (long, short, posters,  resp. 12, 6, 2 pages)
-       Abstracts: October 10, 2014
-       Full papers: October 17, 2014
-       Authors/PC members interaction: November 12-14, 2014
-       Notification to authors: November 22, 2014
-       Final versions: December 10, 2014

Software demos (6 pages)
-       Submission deadline: October 17, 2014
-       Notification to authors: November 22, 2014
-       Final versions: December 10, 2014

  • EGC 2015 committees

Program Committee chair
Jérôme Darmont, ERIC – Université de Lyon, France

Organizing  committee chairs
Benoît Otjacques, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg
Thomas Tamisier, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg

Industry Track Chair

Patrik Hitzelberger, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg

Demonstrations Session Chair

Cécile Favre, ERIC – Université de Lyon, France
Mohammad Ghoniem, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg

Conférence

L’objectif d’EGC est de rassembler des chercheurs de disciplines connexes à l’extraction et la gestion de connaissances (apprentissage automatique, ingénierie des connaissances, statistique et analyse de données, systèmes d’information, bases de données) et des spécialistes du monde industriel qui déploient des méthodes d’extraction et de gestion de connaissances sur des données réelles.

Comme chaque année, la conférence EGC est ouverte à la présentation de travaux de recherche récents et de développements industriels dans le domaine de l’extraction et de la gestion des connaissances. Elle permet ainsi d’exposer des résultats de travaux théoriques et appliqués et d’échanger autour de ces derniers. Merci de se référer à la liste des thèmes d’EGC 2015.

Plusieurs types de communications sont possibles : travaux de recherche originaux (publiés sous forme d’articles longs de 12 pages, d’articles courts de 6 pages ou de posters accompagnés de résumés de 2 pages, selon leur maturité) ; travaux de recherche déjà publiés dans de bonnes conférences internationales mais inédits en français (publiés sous forme de résumé de 6 pages) ; démonstrations de logiciels (présentées dans des articles de 6 pages). Les articles peuvent être soumis en français ou en anglais (pour les non-francophones).
EGC 2015 accueillera également plusieurs ateliers thématiques, voir la page ateliers.

Deux prix du meilleur article académique et appliqué seront décernés, ainsi que le prix de thèse (appel séparé à venir). Les règlements des prix sont disponibles sur le site de l’association. Les actes d’EGC 2015, comprenant les articles de recherche et les démonstrations, paraîtront dans un numéro de la revue RNTI. Les meilleurs articles seront sélectionnés pour être publiés dans des post-actes internationaux édités par Springer Verlag.

  • Session Industrielle : Big Data Analytics

EGC 2015 comportera une Session Industrielle entièrement en anglais sur le thème : Big Data Analytics. Cette session permettra la rencontre et les échanges entre participants académiques et industriels.

La Session Industrielle se spécialisera sur la mise en pratique et le déploiement opérationnel d’applications et de projets en relation avec les thèmes d’EGC (voir la liste des thèmes d’EGC 2015), avec un intérêt particulier pour les expériences dans le domaine des données massives. Les scénarios de réussites et les retours d’expérience concernant la mise en production de technologies analytiques dans l’industrie sont attendus. La Session Industrielle s’intéressera également aux pistes de recherche ouvertes, aux perspectives industrielles de l’analyse des données massives, ainsi qu’à l’utilisation pratique, en général, des outils et méthodes d’extraction et de gestion de connaissances.

Les contributions doivent avant tout porter sur l’intérêt pratique des travaux, qu’elles viennent de l’industrie ou du monde académique, ou en particulier  présentent des collaborations entre les deux. Les articles courts (maximum 6 pages) ou longs (maximum 12 pages) peuvent être soumis, uniquement en anglais, en se conformant au format et règles de la conférence.

  • Démonstrations

Une session spéciale de démonstrations de logiciels et de prototypes de recherche sera organisée dans le cadre de la conférence EGC 2015.

Au même titre que pour les articles de recherche, ces démonstrations devront relever des thèmes de la conférence, à savoir : l’extraction et la gestion de connaissances (fondements, méthodologies, domaines émergents, applications...).  Merci de se référer à la liste des thèmes d’EGC 2015.

Les papiers (maximum 6 pages) présentant ces logiciels seront inclus dans les actes de la conférence.

Chaque proposition acceptée fera l’objet d’une présentation rapide en session plénière, ainsi que d’un temps de démonstration approfondie lors d’une rencontre avec les participants de la conférence.

  • Soumissions

Les soumissions doivent être anonymes et se feront par voie électronique exclusivement à partir du site web de la conférence. Elles devront être envoyées au format PDF exclusivement et devront impérativement utiliser le format LaTeX RNTI. Merci de vous reporter à la page de soumission pour toutes les précisions utiles.

Aller à la page de soumission.

Télécharger l’appel à contributions au format PDF.

  • Dates

Toutes les dates sont fermes et définitives. Il ne sera accordé aucun délai ou report.

Articles de recherche (longs, courts, posters,  resp. de 12, 6, 2 pages)
- Résumés des articles : 10 octobre 2014
- Textes complets des articles : 17 octobre 2014
- Interactions auteurs/membres du comité de programme : 12-14 novembre 2014
- Notification aux auteurs : 22 novembre 2014
- Version finale des articles : 10 décembre 2014

Démonstrations de logiciels (6 pages)
- Date limite de soumission : 17 octobre 2014
- Notification aux auteurs : 22 novembre 2014
- Version finale des articles : 10 décembre 2014

  • Responsables EGC 2015

Président du comité de programme
Jérôme Darmont, ERIC – Université de Lyon, France

Responsables du comité d'organisation

Benoît Otjacques, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg
Thomas Tamisier, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg

Responsable de la Session Industrielle

Patrik Hitzelberger, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg

Responsables de la Session Démonstrations
Cécile Favre, ERIC – Université de Lyon, France
Mohammad Ghoniem, CRP - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg